Today I ran in the 9th annual Drumstick Dash, a 4.5 mile Thanksgiving Day running event. This is always a fun event that is also a fund raiser for the Wheeler Mission here in Indianapolis. This, like many running events, is an avenue for achieving personal athletic goals and camaraderie. It also tends to be time for folks to take some liberties with fashion. Anything from expensive running attire, basic t-shirts and shorts to elaborate thematic costumes. It was amusing to see runners dressed as pilgrims or with turkey shaped hats.
Of all of these various get ups, one got my attention more than all the others. It was a simple T-shirt with the following slogan;
“Treadmills are for people who aren’t going anywhere.” As a runner who definitely prefers running outside, it made me laugh. But, it also got me thinking.
It’s easy to keep ourselves busy and yet accomplish little. Lord knows, I have. But, I for one, want to run in a realm of possibilities. Where goals can be set and reached and new ones set again. Not just busy, but purposeful. Focused. And maybe, where a funny hat along the way.

